IF I KNEW THEN: A Letter to Me on My First Day Teaching

I posted this video because these teachers are real, they are honest and they hold nothing back. They made me laugh, made me cry and made me nod my head in agreement. They don’t pretend that teaching is an easy job. They admit it’s hard but very rewarding.

Looking back to over 2 years ago, when I first started instructing, I wonder what advice future me would have given to help me prepare for my first day? I found it very hard coming into a program half way through the year. The students were unsure of me. They doubt my teaching skills, (no surprise since it was my first day EVER!!). It probably didn’t help I was only 4-5 years older than half of them. They had doubt, I had doubt, some days I still have doubt. Even though in two short years my confidence has grown, along with my teaching, it’s still hard work. Our program changes students every year. I feel I have to re-prove to each class that I have experience and that I am knowledgeable. I think this is why I feel this video needs to be reposted and also why I love the first chapter in Brookfield’s book. They both are straight from the heart, nothing hidden, nothing fake, just real comments to explain that teaching is an emotional roller coaster, with highs and lows, but so very much worth the work in the end!!

I wanted to include my favourite words of wisdom from the teacher’s in this video:

You will fail, you will make mistakes, except it with grace and humility.

Never stop learning.

Ask for and admit you need help.

Lives and futures depend on you!

References:

Soulpancake. May 3, 2014. If I Knew Then: A Letter to Me on My First Day Teaching.

Reposted from:

https://youtu.be/miPYLJI247g

Leave a Reply

