Kahoot!

tell-me-and-i-forget

As part of my PIDP 3240 course we have multiple forum based discussions where we share links to articles and online resources. One of the resource that caught my eye was the website Kahoot. For any of you unfamiliar with the site, you can create online quizzes, surveys and discussions. They have 11.2 million public kahoots you can use if you don’t have time or don’t want to create your own. I have had no problem finding quizzes that fit in multiple topics for my certified dental assisting program. I am pretty sure with 11.2 million there is something for almost every topic out there. The hardest part is going to be figuring out which one fits your needs best.

I was so excited to have an opportunity to introduce Kahoot to my students yesterday.  I had been trying to find the perfect class to incoperate an online game/quiz. In my class I was introducing the facial and cranial bones and  I was lucky enough to find a Kahoot that covered the exact same information I was teaching.

I used a Kahoot quiz as a review of what I had taught that class. I wanted to keep it short and pretty basic, nothing overwhelming for their first time.  I decided to play the team mode vs one on one, to make it less intimidating for any struggling students and more of an overall collaborative experience. I have to say Kahoot was a hit! My students loved it! They thought it was lots of fun and the perfect way to end our class for the weekend.To top it off the other instructor in my program could hear all the laughing and asked where she could find the link.

Kahoot was also helpful to me. From the student’s results, I learned that on one question 5 out of the 7 groups answered it wrong.  This feedback shows me what area of the subject matter my students were struggling with and now I have a starting point for my next class.

I would highly recommend this website to new and experienced instructors.

Have fun! Explorer! Learn!

https://getkahoot.com/

Leave a Reply

