SlideShare

the-best-teachers-are-those-that-show-you-were-to-look

 

I am currently finishing up my PIDP 3240 course. For one of our assignment, we were to share teaching tools and web media. I started a discussion on the website Slideshare. SlideShare is similar to YouTube but with slides instead of videos. People can create slide presentations on their topic then post to the site. There is thousands of topics to choose from and some amazing slides uploaded. SlideShare can be a great media addition to your classroom presentation.

My one piece of advice, when using someone else’s information, is to always make sure it’s correct information.  One SlideShare I found had incorrect information on dental instruments! It had a picture of a ball burnisher (which I am sure makes no sense to anyone not in the dental field) under the heading carving instrument! Anyone in the dental field can tell you a ball burnisher is a finishing instrument.

I have used SlideShare in the past as an extra studying tool or home resource for my students. I am only a substitute instructor in theory and so my PowerPoints presentation are prepared for me. I have found that sometimes our PowerPoint presentation in the classroom are designed around us talking and filling in the blanks. They might not be the best resource for a student that is struggling. I have found some excellent SlideShare presentations on dental topics.  Some of these slides use visual aids that can help target your students that may have a variety of different learning styles. I feel this is a website that any instructor or student should check out.

http://www.slideshare.net/

 

The extra link below is for any CDA instructors out there? This is a SlideShare I used recently on dental instruments. It has 99 slides and lots of details but I mainly liked the middle portion which broke down hand instruments with pictures, explanations of design and uses.

http://www.slideshare.net/abhijeet1104/hand-instruments-in-operative-dentistry?qid=60b3eabd-565c-46d9-896a-a317512bbdbc&v=&b=&from_search=6

 

Quote photo retrieved from Pinterest at

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/11047961564415580/

 

 

 

Leave a comment